Tuesday, May 13, 2008

Ten Ways To Go Out In Cricket.

According to some information I just received there are ten ways a cricketer can be dismissed in Cricket.

They are:

1) Bowled.
2) Caught.
3) Leg before wicket.
4) Stumped.
5) Run out.
6) Hit wicket.
7) Handled the ball.
8) Hit the ball twice.
9) Obstructing the field.
10) Timed out.
Further to this, there is one more way of being removed from the game but not officially dismissed. This is called “retired hurt”, when an injured batsman may retire and does not come back to bat again.

Technically the above may be interesting to some experts and Purists of the game but to my mind there is only one thing that matters in all this and is more important than the above ten ways.

Yes, the only thing that matters is not how you get out, but that you try not to get out at all, if at all possible. How you failed is only incidental and a matter for statisticians. Staying in the game and succeeding, even if actual runs on the board are slow to come by, is much more important that how you got out.

What about you? What is true in cricket is also true in life too! Do you worry more about how you get struck out in life, rather than concentrating on not getting out at all. Some things may be fine for statisticians and the like but for most of us, staying in the Game and not worrying about which way you went out is what should be more important, unless of course you keep getting out the same way all the time. Then that is a problem, but I still don’t think anyone should be trying to make sure that they have been dismissed at least once in all ten possible ways, do you? No! Stay in the game as long as you possibly can. Try all the ways you can find to stay legally in the game and don’t worry about how you are dismissed, just do all you can to delay that situation that yo can. What say you?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

For those actually interested here are the official ways to go out in Cricket.

Caught — When a fielder catches the ball before it bounces and after the batsman has struck it with the bat or it has come into contact with the batsman's glove while it is in contact with the bat handle. The bowler and catcher are both credited with the dismissal. (Law 32)
Bowled — When a delivered ball hits the stumps at the batsman's end, and dislodges one or both of the bails. This happens regardless of whether the batsman has edged the ball onto the stumps or not. The bowler is credited with the dismissal. (Law 30)
Leg before wicket (lbw) — When a delivered ball strikes the batsman's leg, pad or body, and the umpire judges that the ball would otherwise have struck the stumps. The laws of cricket stipulate certain exceptions. For instance, a delivery pitching outside the line of leg stump should not result in an lbw dismissal, while a delivery hitting the batsman outside the line of the off stump should result in an lbw dismissal only if the batsman makes no attempt to play the ball with the bat. The bowler is credited with the dismissal.
Run out — When a fielder, bowler or wicket-keeper removes one or both of the bails with the ball by hitting the stumps whilst a batsman is still running between the two ends. The ball can either hit the stumps directly or the fielder's hand with the ball inside it can be used to dislodge the bails. Such a dismissal is not officially credited to any player, although the identities of the fielder or fielders involved are often noted in brackets on the scorecard.
Stumped — When the batsman leaves his crease in playing a delivery, voluntarily or involuntarily, but the ball goes to the wicket-keeper who uses it to remove one or both of the bails through hitting the bail(s) or the wicket before the batsman has remade his ground. The bowler and wicket-keeper are both credited. This generally requires the keeper to be standing within arm's length of the wicket, which is done mainly to spin bowling. (Law 39)
Hit wicket — When the batsman knocks the stumps with either the body or the bat, causing one or both of the bails to be dislodged, either in playing a shot or in taking off for the first run. The bowler is credited with the dismissal. (Law 35)
Handled the ball — When the batsman deliberately handles the ball without the permission of the fielding team. No player is credited with the dismissal. (Law 33)
Hit the ball twice — When the batsman deliberately strikes the ball a second time, except for the sole purpose of guarding his wicket. No player is credited with the dismissal. (Law 34)
Obstructing the field — When a batsman deliberately hinders a fielder attempting to field the ball. No player is credited with the dismissal. (Law 37)
Timed out — When a new batsman takes more than three minutes to take his position in the field to replace a dismissed batsman. (If the delay is protracted, the umpires may decide that the batting side has forfeited the match). This rule prevents the batting team using up time to unfair advantage. No player is credited with the dismissal. (Law 31
(A batsman may leave the field without being dismissed. If injured or taken ill the batsman may temporarily retire, and be replaced by the next batsman. This is recorded as retired hurt or retired ill. The retiring batsman is not out, and may resume the innings later. An unimpaired batsman may retire, and this is treated as being dismissed retired out; no player is credited with the dismissal.)


2 comments:

anthony.kirkland said...

If the ball hits the wicket, rattles them around but the bails stay in place, are you 'Not Out'?

Walter parker said...

Yes Anthony, that is correct.
As long as the bails stay on the stumps without falling, one is not out.
And it has happened before where the stumps have been "rattled" but not enough to officially dislodge the bails.
Hence they were "Not Out" and continued on in until they were out later!